Guest Reviews

At Greenlees Lodge, we are committed to providing you the best possible service and to oversee the small details which will make your stay comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable.  As of May 8, 2015 our average online review score is 9.8/10 ON Booking.com and 5 stars on Trip Advisor. The following reviews are from Booking.com, Laterooms.com and Trip Advisor:

 

100% Sharon W - Trip Advisor - Bracknell United Kingdom - August 2014 - Amazing! We stayed here for 2 nights to explore Edinburgh. Vince and Jim are great hosts nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was immaculate with a brilliant shower and a fridge full of drinks if we needed them. The breakfast was amazing with plenty on offer. As we had to leave early for the next leg of our journey Vince made us a lovely packed lunch to take with us instead of breakfast. It's a bit tricky to find but keep following your nose you'll get there in the end. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you so much for a lovely stay. My only regret was I didn't stay here for 3 nights and avoided staying at Scarborough.

 

100% RodL - Trip Advisor - Doncaster United Kingdom - August 2014 - Peaceful break 5 Star + Room 2 was our room and we could not fault it ,it had everything you could want even a security night light that came on when you needed to visit the bathroom,but did not disturb your other half.” (rodl750)

 

100% LoveB - Trip Advisor - Kent United Kingdom - August 2014 Brilliant place to stay! just back from our weekend in Edinburgh,cant praise this place highly enough ,super clean and very hospitable ,great breakfast,Helpful host ,lovely setting away from the busy city.Hope to be back one day would definitely recommend.

 

100% Conant10 - Family - Trip Advisor - United States - August 2014 Greenlees Lodge is a home away from home! This is a must stay location, we will be back! We were warmly greeted by Vince and Jim, who were the most accommodating hosts. They want your visit to be perfect, it's evident as every detail of our stay was carefully thought out. We were brought milk and cookies on the only evening we stayed in. And each morning we had breakfasts fit for royalty! Absolutely fantastic stay! Thank you Vince and Jim for sharing your home with us! -John, Elizabeth, and Bella

 

100% JennyG - Couple - Trip Advisor - Knysna South Africa - June 2014 - My husband and I spent two nights at Greenlees B&B last month. We were warmly greeted by Vince & Jim and immediately made to feel at home. Excellent modern accommodation and a delicious and generous breakfast freshly cooked by Vince in their super modern open plan kitchen. Greenlees is conveniently situated to visit Edinburgh by bus. Vince goes the extra mile for his guests and we highly recommend this B&B. Jenny Gaylard, South Africa

 

100% AcornLeicestershire - Trip advisor - Top Marks!!!  - July 2014 - We booked our stay through a Groupon deal and what a bargain we got!! On arrival we were greeted by Vince and Jim who were both very friendly and welcoming and immediately offered us a cup of tea which was much appreciated! The house is beautiful and modern and situated on a private road in a quiet rural location. They have a fabulous communal lounge and the hosts thoughtfully provided a selection of books and tourist information leaflets. We stayed in a large ensuite room which was spotlessly clean! The bed was king sized and very comfortable. My fiancé was impressed by the smart TV and I loved the shower which was hot and powerful. Vince and Jim offered advice regarding parking in Edinburgh and even printed us some information and offered us a lift! Breakfast was served between between 8.30am-10am at the kitchens communal table. We loved this as it gave us opportunity to chat to more to Vince (head chef) as well as a another couple who were staying. There was an abundance of choice for breakfast, cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurt, cooked breakfast, pancakes and even homemade granola bar served with ice cream! I chose to have Pancakes the first morning and was really spoilt with blueberries and maple syrup, delicious! My fiancé had the full breakfast and enjoyed this too. It is clear that Vince and Jim are committed to providing guests with a high quality service and enjoy what they do. Overall a fantastic stay and we hope to come back again in the future to see Vince and Jim as they are such lovely people!!

 

100% GregB - Trip Advisor - Canada - June 2014 - Couple - Fabulous B&B Experience! Excellent comfortable and modern B & B tucked away in a quiet woodland setting complete with deer. Vince & Jim could not have been better hosts, offering us refreshments at any time of day or night and volunteering to drop us off and pick us up from the bus stop (which was only a short walk down the hill). The bedroom and ensuite bathroom were bright, large, spacious and spotless, as well as the rest of the house. The options for breakfast were endless, the food was high quality and we were catered to, better than in most restaurants. We were fortunate enough to meet and spend time with Vince & Jim’s family and friends, at dinner and during Quiz Night at the pub – terrific people and tons of fun! Our conversations with Vince and Jim were a blast – never laughed so much during our trip, and Vince was extremely helpful to us in organizing our limited time in Edinburgh. We arrived as mere guests, but left after 3 nights feeling more like we had stayed with good friends. We highly recommend this B & B to any and all travelling in the Edinburgh area!!

 

10.0 Karen - Couple - United Kingdom - August 19, 2014 Lovely location, up a very quiet narrow lane with a direct short cut to the local pub and bus stop to Edinburgh. Lovely host, very obliging, offered to put our motor bike in garage which we accepted. Offered to pick us up from pub…we declined, beautiful clean prop

 

9.6 Owen - Solo Traveler - Ireland - August 13, 2014 very clean, host very welcoming and extremely helpful good local knowledge

 

10.0 Lyn - Family - United Kingdom - August 11, 2014 super clean and comfortable,excellent breakfasts,great location

 

9.2 June - Couple - United Kingdom - August 8, 2014 Our welcome from owner, he could could not have been more helpful,even offering to drive us back from the pub!

 

9.6 Dion - Couple - South Africa - July 18, 2014 Owners very friendly and helpful, attentive without being overbearing. Comfortable clean modern accommodation. Convenient to transport. Quiet setting. Wifi etc all available

 

100% TonyHDunn - Trip Advisor - Edinburgh United Kingdom - July 2014 - Fantastic Accomodation! Fantastic high standard and quality accommodation. I regularly travel throughout europe on business, and Greenlees Lodge is definitely up there as one of the best and most friendly hotels I've visited.

 

10.0 - Wayne - Couple - United Kingdom - June 21, 2014 Very pleased with the whole experience, immaculate and modern lodgings, hosted by Vincent and James. We were very well looked after by Vincent, who made our stay very comfortable.

 

10.0 - Ann - Couple - United Kingdom - June 17, 2014 Everything was great!

 

10.0 - Graham - Couple - United Kingdom - June 14, 2014 spotless room, very modern, staff were very friendly. excellent breakfast

 

10.0 - Richard - Solo Traveler - United Kingdom - June 9, 2014 Excellent service. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. I will defiantly be using Greenlees Lodge again.

 

10.0 - John - Couple Australia - May 30, 2014 Quite and peaceful location, easy bus access to Edinburgh via the 31. Hosts Vincent & Jim very obliging and willing to do everything to make the stay as pleasant and easy as possible.

 

10.0 - Patrick - Solo Traveler - United Kingdom - May 28, 2014 Looks and feels band new. All fittings and fixtures of 5 star quality. The owners made me feel totally relaxed and would do anything to assist. I needed an early breakfast and was supplied with a vast selection of appetizing items.

 

9.6 - Fiona - Solo Traveler - United Kingdom - May 16, 2014 Owner was very friendly. Lovely breakfast-lots of choice. Room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Nice location.

 

10.0 - Jingmei - Couple - United Kingdom - May 12, 2014 Great location if you travel with cars, great privacy. Totally feels like being a guest of the owner's home. Comfortable room and facilities, delicious breakfast, wifi is definitely working well~ Love the experience, no doubt.

 

10.0 Jaap - Couple - France - April 23, 2014 A beautiful place, just south of Edinburgh.  Quiet. Excellent accommodation. Wonderful hosts.  Incredible breakfast.  What a great place to stay. It was an honour to be there.  A little difficult to find. They were not allowed to post signs at the road. Just continue till the end of the road. 

 

10.0 Colin - Couple - United Kingdom - April 30, 2014 There are no comments available for this review.

 

9.6 Alison - Group of friends - United Kingdom - April 22, 2014  The quality and finish of the accommodation was outstanding. The shower room was amazing. A huge garage to store our bikes overnight.

 

10.0 Elizabeth - Couple - United Kingdom - April 19, 2014 - We liked the location and the very friendly and professional way that Vince and Jim welcomed us into their home.  Nothing was too much trouble and they were perfect hosts. There was nothing about our stay that we did not like. Everything was perfect.

 

10.0 Steven - Couple - United Kingdom - March 26, 2014 - Vince was extremely nice, helpful and just a general pleasure to have met!  I unfortunately did not meet the co owner.

 

10.0 Rae & Malcolm  - 19th-21st March 2014.  We had originally booked a room for one night, instead we stayed for 3.  We can truly say it is one of the best places we have ever stayed!  Vince is a most pleasant, caring and friendly host catering for, and in some cases anticipating our every need.  Both breakfast, and, if requested, dinner at night are excellent.  Greenlees lodge is in a quiet location near to Rosslyn Chapel and other places of interest in this most beautiful area. The rooms are of modern decor, are fully equipped, containing everything that you might possibly need.  Breakfasts are excellent with Vince providing attentive personal service as he also does if an evening meal is ordered in the morning.  We couldn't possibly ask for more, a truly great experience.  We have booked to return in October for Rae's 70th birthday.

 

9.6 Anonymous - Mature couple Australia September 8, 2013 Excellent hosts, lovely location and very comfortable beds.

 

10.0 Anonymous - Mature couple United KingdomAugust 14, 2013 Modern, clean décor Friendliness of host - nothing was too much trouble Nice

 

10.0 Michel - Mature couple St-Simon-de-Rimouski,Canada September 19, 2013- Serviabilité, gentillesse, disponibilité des hôtes pour rendre le séjour merveilleux- Déjeuner copieux et variés- Extrême propreté des lieux- Facile pour se rendre à Édinburgh (15 min. en bus)- Aire commune et ambiance relaxante et accueillante - Tous le détails pour rendre le séjour agréable sont pris en chargeEn fait, absolument rien.

 

10.0 Anonymous - Young couple United Kingdom February 4, 2014.  We had booked a room for one night totally by coincidence, because our business meeting was in the area. Truly we can say it was the best coincidence of our lives! Hosts, Vince and Jim are the most pleasant, caring and friendly people that we have ever meet and their B&B is EXTREMELY SATISFYING - peaceful location, modern decor, fully equipped rooms with everything that you possibly need, hospitals in this country are less spotless than Vince's and Jim's house was, tasty breakfast and very, very, very, very warm welcome! We couldn't possibly ask for more, great experience.

 

9.6 Anonymous - Solo traveler United Kingdom February 6, 2014 Very friendly, pleasant and comfortable. Slept very well. Excellent breakfast and a lovely place to stay. The only problem is finding in the dark on the evening of arrival. You have to just keep driving to the end of Green Lane. But this is not down to the owners - they have been prevented from putting up signs.

 

9.6 Sue - Mature couple Alfred Cove, Australia September 3, 2013 Modern B and B. Host Vince was very welcoming and helpful. He offers more than expected eg . cheese bikkies and drinks on arrival, offered to make sandwiches lunch next day and in addition to usual B and B fare. Will change menu to suit the guest, will even print info to you from has computer! B and B in quiet rural area only 6 miles from city. Vince even offered to pick us up at anytime should we get stuck and need a lift. Wasnt anythin didn't like about Greenlees.

 

9.6 Paul - Mature couple Jesmond, United Kingdom September 7, 2013  A perfect place and hosts to match the best. Clean,super friendly and some fine touches. This place is a little diamond.

 

10.0 Joan - Family with young children Paisley, United Kingdom September 11, 2013 Had a great time hosts were very helpfull and friendly very luxurious I would recomended this BB and would use this BB again.

 

10.0 Glenn - Solo traveler Blackburn, United Kingdom September 27, 2013 The Location The Staff were excellent Friendly Comfortable Accommodation.

 

10.0 Stuart - Young couple Airdrie, United Kingdom November 6, 2013 Top class hospitality and facilities. Room spotless and finished to high standard. Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide range of choices. Highly recommended.

 

9.6 Roy - Mature couple Queen Camel, United Kingdom November 12, 2013 Light, bright, modern, spotlessly clean, very comfortable, accommodation with an excellent breakfast. Co-owner Vince is a friendly, thoughtful and unobstrusive host. Convenient bus service into central Edinburgh nearby.

 

9.6 Alaine - Solo traveler Stirling, United Kingdom November 16, 2013 Vince and Jim could not do enough to make my stay comfortable. My room was well appointed and comfortable - the shower was amazing! Beautiful place.

 

10.0 Corinne - Mature couple Glasgow, United Kingdom November 24, 2013 Very warm welcome from staff. Very clean and comfortable environment. Staff able to recognise we needed some 'R&R and not intrusive. Beautiful country surroundings. Yummy breakfast with lots of variety. Very much enjoyed my stay and will return.

 

9.2 Sumeet - Young couple Birmingham, United Kingdom November 27, 2013 The whole expirence was amazing as first time in scotland the staff was so helpful. Very nice and modern place to stay. Any time we travel there again will defo stay there again.

 

10.0 Kevin - Mature couple Newcastle,United Kingdom December 3, 2013 The lodge was immaculate and Vincent was very helpfull , the facilities were close enough to the city but not too close . The local resteraunt was excellent and really relaxing with a few bars around , breakfast in the morning had everything anyone would need , couldn't fault the place .... Suuuuperb

 

10.0 Jim - Mature couple Glasgow, United Kingdom December 27, 2013 We liked everything. owners great and very helpfull. we will be back.

 

10.0 Carole - Mature couple Richmond, United Kingdom February 12, 2014 Excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Went out of their way to ensure my gluten free diet was catered for- far better than most hotels I have stayed in. Outstanding breakfast. Lovely house. Would definitely stay again.Could not find fault with anything.

 

10.0 Catherine - Mature couple Derby, United Kingdom March 2, 2014 Everything about it! Facilities were beautiful, couldn't have been better. The owners were friendly and welcoming, and keen to know if they could improve on anything. It was all 5 star. All tastes and appetites were catered for at breakfast. It was fortunate we only stayed 3 days, as our waistlines were beginning to expand!!

 

10.0 Ellen - Mature couple Altamont, United States of America March 3, 2014 The owners were both friendly and helpful. We were served a wonderful breakfast, including eggs anyway we liked. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean as well as comfortable. We are planning another trip to Scotland in the fall and would definitely stay at Greenlees.

 

 

Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh B&B Edinburgh Festival Accomodations Edinburgh Festival Edinburgh Guest House Edinburgh Accommodation Edinburgh International Festival  Edinburgh Lodging Edinburgh Gay Friendly Hotel Edinburgh Gay Friendly B&B Edinburgh Bed & Breakfast Rosslyn Chapel Hotel Rosslyn Chapel B&B Rosslyn Chapel